Welcome back to The Beat

Revue has died, but we are back with Beehiiv

Hi,

Thanks for opening our newsletter, it's the first I've sent for a long time, as I've been busy with the podcast and the day job! But I was recently nudged into action by the closure of Revue, so I'm giving Beehiiv a go. Yes, the perils of living on rented land! So, I hope you don't mind me slipping this into your inbox as I give this a spin.

What do you think of the new digs? Let me know by replying to this email, or if this isn't for you, click on unsubscribe in the footer.

If you like this, I will try and get back into the groove and share something with you every week. If you have suggestions or want me to mention something you are working on, please get in touch.

Cheers!

Ian

Ian Truscott | Founder and Chief Bottle Washer | Rockstar CMO

The Latest on the Podcast

We celebrated 150 episodes of our weekly podcast this week, which I have produced every Saturday for the last 150 weeks!

If you are a listener, thank you, if you've not listened before, I started this as a lockdown project, almost 3 years ago. It's an hour-long show, featuring our resident rockstar advisor and former Research Direct at Forrester / SiriusDecisions Jeff Clark, a guest interview, and I retire to our virtual bar for a cocktail with my chum and content marketing guru Robert Rose.

In Production - 5 F'in' Fundamentals

We are currently working on rebooting the topic of the 5 F'in' Marketing Fundamentals, the top-level things that marketers, especially in B2B, need to focus on and care about. Last year we chatted about them on the podcast. Here is what we think they are:

  1. Business Objectives & Outcomes

  2. Research & Insight

  3. Brand & Story

  4. Campaign Planning & Execution

  5. Marketing Team & Execution

We'll be chatting about them on the podcast, and I'll be posting a blog post about this, be interested in your thoughts. Anything we are missing?

Street Knowledge

A sample of some of the good stuff from the podcast show notes and other random stuff that has caught my eye this week.

Robert Rose, a regular on the podcast, has a column on the Content Marketing Institute website, Rose Colored Glasses, where he often explores in depth some of the things he touches on when we chat:

Also, from the podcast, Jeff offers us some great advice for 2023, focus on your customers:

I'm chatting with Dan White, who is a freelance marketer and author for the podcast, this week. I came across him when he published The Smart Marketing Book and was interviewed for one of my favourite podcasts (The Marketing Book Podcast). He's got a unique writing and illustration style, and we'll be talking about his new book "The Smart Branding Book" - take a look at his work - he'll be on in a couple of weeks:

On the topic of brand, I had some thoughts on this myself a few weeks ago:

Nothing to do with the podcast, but I shared this article on LinkedIn, some wonderful potty-mouth commentary from Mark Ritson on pricing that's relevant to what it says about Tesla right now but also makes some great points about pricing in general. I especially liked this quote:

A discounted price f**ks off the one segment of the market you never want to f**k off, those that believe in you and your product and your pricing promise so much they actually bought from you

Mark Ritson

Who hasn't been pissed off with a brand when the discount, after you've bought the product? Full article below:

Marketing Monday Morning Mojo

What will get your Monday morning marketing mojo working? Try this from this week's podcast - Eminem, Lose Yourself

Finally, a little horn toot...

This was just lovely from Jason Falls, who left a review of the podcast. He's a speaker, author, podcaster, and expert in social media and influencer marketing who I have followed forever. Delighted to have him as a listener, let alone dropping a review like this!

I love everything about this show!Where do I begin? I love Rockstar CMO. It’s a regular Saturday listen for me. Ian and Jeff have insightful back and forth conversations about the issues of the day, which in an of itself is a great pod. But then there’s a guest … sometimes two … with smarts to share. Then Robert Rose comes in and talks content over a cocktail? It’s like a variety show for marketers. Super smart. Great energy. Brilliant all the way around.

Jason Falls - Digital Marketing Thought Leader, Influencer, Author, Speaker, Podcaster. Winfluence

Say hello

Reply to this email, follow us on LinkedIn on Twitter or follow this link to get in touch, would love to hear from you.